Quote of the day

Baseball is reassuring. It makes me feel as if the world is not going to blow up.

~Sharon Olds (American Poet)

sharon-olds

poetryfoundation.org

4 Comments on “Quote of the day”

  1. I wonder when she wrote that? Because I’m not sure baseball can save us from ourselves these days. Sigh. (In any event, watching baseball gossip from the Winter Meetings unfold on Twitter yesterday was unusually comforting and a therapeutic respite from real news.)

    • Now I’m curious too, but I don’t see a date right off the bat. We do live in some crazy times — it’s nice to have baseball as an escape. But I agree, I’m not sure it can save us.

  2. wkkortas says:

    Everybody knows that you can’t trust poets once it comes to baseball.


Leave a Reply

